5th International Workshop on Social Sensing (SocialSens 2020)

Special Edition on Narrative Analysis on Social Media

An ICWSM 2020 Full-Day Workshop

The social sensing workshop (started in 2015) is a multidisciplinary meeting place that brings together social scientists and computer scientists, interested in social media analysis, around research that interprets social media as measurement instruments. Social media democratized information production offering an unprecedented view into human habits, customs, culture, stances, and indeed descriptions of physical events that transpire in the world. They also give unprecedented opportunities to spread misinformation, influence opinion, distract from truth, or advance specific agendas, hidden or overt. What are scientific foundations for modeling this new communication channel? How to exploit information media signals to better understand social systems, communities, and each other? How to identify and remove noise and misuse of this medium? If social media are measurement instruments, what specifically can one measure, what underlying theory allows one to do so, and what applications are enabled by the endeavor? Traditional sensors in physical domains respond to signals with well-understood behaviors and propagation models. What can one learn from physical signal processing literature to enable novel social media analysis methods? This scope brings about new interdisciplinary research challenges and opportunities at the intersection of communication and sensing, social network analysis, information theory, data mining, natural language processing, artificial intelligence, and social science.

Important Dates

Paper submission: April 10th

Notification: May 1st

Final manuscript submission: TBD

Submission Page

Workshop Submission System


General Chairs:

Jiawei Han, University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign, USA

Ning Yu, Leidos Inc., USA

Program Chairs:

Emilio Ferrara, University of Southern California, USA

Tarek Abdelzaher, University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign, USA

Web Chair:

Shuochao Yao, University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign, USA

TPC Members:

Elisa Bienenstock, Arizona State University, USA

Mark Finlayson, Florida International University, USA

Michael Gabbay, University of Washington, USA

Wei Gao, Victoria University of Wellington, New Zealand

Ivan Garibay, University of Central Florida, USA

Hamed Haddadi, Queen Mary University of London, UK

Susan Herring, Indiana University, USA

Mohit Iyyer, University of Massachusetts, USA

Heng Ji, University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign, USA

Brian Kettler, DARPA/I2O, USA

George Mohler, Indiana University Purdue University Indianapolis, USA

Mark Orr, Virginia Tech., USA

Bryan Pelley, Protagonist, USA

Jonathan Pfautz, Leidos, USA

Art Ramirez, University of South Florida, USA

Melissa Roemmele, SDL, USA

Murat Sensoy, Ozyegin University, Turkey

Mudhakar Srivatsa, IBM Research, USA

Venugopal V. Veeravalli, University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign, USA

Steering Committee:

Tarek Abdelzaher, University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign, USA (Chair)

Charu Aggarwal, IBM Research, USA

Jiawei Han, University of Illinois at Urbana Champaign, USA

Edward Palazzolo, U.S. Army Research Office, USA

Mani Srivastava, University of California at Los Angeles, USA

Bolek Szymanski, Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, USA

Dong Wang, University of Notre Dame, USA